'Switch Numbers' doesn't update parent clone field of clones

Post bug reports and suggestions for the website, forums and DOM here.
Post Reply
Rifu
High Council
Posts: 57
Joined: 27 Jun 2010 12:08

'Switch Numbers' doesn't update parent clone field of clones

Post by Rifu » 18 Apr 2012 19:52

Just noticed with the recent NDS roms that have 'switched numbers' is that if either of the Roms that are switching
numbers is set to PARENT and has one or more clones, those clone roms don't get their 'parent number' updated.

This is why when using the recent NDS parent/clone DAT, that some roms needed to be 'unmerged'.
I've just uploaded an updated NDS Parent clone list that has fixed it, but it will happen again with the
'Inazuma Eleven 2' Europe Roms that have been recently dumped by scene but are currently 'Z' Roms.

Here is what the parent clone relationship is set to now:
(z098 is set to PARENT and 4247, 5989, z100, z101 are set to be clones of z098)
which looks like this when you upload the parent/clone list:

Code: Select all

z098 - Inazuma Eleven 2 - Blizzard (Europe)|(EUR PARENT)
	4247 - Inazuma Eleven 2 - Kyoui no Shinryakusha - Blizzard (Japan) [b]|(JPN PARENT)
	5989 - Inazuma Eleven 2 - Tempete de Glace (France)|(FRA PARENT)
	z100 - Inazuma Eleven 2 - Ventisca Eterna (Spain) [b]|(SPA PARENT)
	z101 - Inazuma Eleven 2 - Bufera di Neve (Italy)|(ITA PARENT)
If you switch numbers from z098 to its proper number (e.g 6009) the 'clone' roms which in this case are
4247, 5989, z100, z101, their clone field won't get updated to 6009, it will get cleared (no value)

This only happens if the Roms you are switching numbers with is set to Parent and has one or more 'clones'.
This isn't a big issue as there are currently only two other 'Z' roms that are Parents and have one or more clones:
z004 - Go, Diego, Go! - Safari Rescue (Europe) (En,Fr,De,Nl)
z008 - Youda Legend - The Curse Of The Amsterdam Diamond (Europe) (En,De) (NDSi Enhanced)


edit: This can also result in the switched roms clones having wrong parents.
for example, if the original parent clone list was like this:

Code: Select all

0023 - Star Wars - Episode III - Revenge of the Sith (Europe) (En,Fr,De,Es,It,Nl)|(EUR PARENT)
	0076 - Star Wars - Episode III - Revenge of the Sith (USA) (En,Fr,De,Es,It,Nl)|(USA PARENT)
	0161 - Star Wars - Episode III - Sith no Fukushuu (Japan)|(JPN PARENT)
0024 - Robots (Europe) (En,Fr,De,Es,It)|(EUR PARENT)
	0059 - Robots (USA)|(USA PARENT)
but the Roms were numbered wrong and you needed to switch 0023 <-> 0024,
the parent clone list will now look like this because the 'clones' parent clone field wasn't updated.

Code: Select all

0023 - Robots (Europe) (En,Fr,De,Es,It)|(EUR PARENT)
	0076 - Star Wars - Episode III - Revenge of the Sith (USA) (En,Fr,De,Es,It,Nl)|(USA PARENT)
	0161 - Star Wars - Episode III - Sith no Fukushuu (Japan)|(JPN PARENT)
0024 - Star Wars - Episode III - Revenge of the Sith (Europe) (En,Fr,De,Es,It,Nl)|(EUR PARENT)
	0059 - Robots (USA)|(USA PARENT)

User avatar
xuom2
High Council
Posts: 899
Joined: 22 May 2008 18:45

Re: 'Switch Numbers' doesn't update parent clone field of cl

Post by xuom2 » 18 Apr 2012 21:14

yep, i did noticed that, but i am still thinking how to implement an algorithm for this. i think i will implement a quick solution soon, and keep you updated here.

User avatar
xuom2
High Council
Posts: 899
Joined: 22 May 2008 18:45

Re: 'Switch Numbers' doesn't update parent clone field of cl

Post by xuom2 » 03 Jun 2012 19:04

it should work now :clown:

Post Reply